D&D15&16 – A letter sent from Keuset

Master Khalim,
Former Sergeant-at-Arms to the Emir, Tower of Ahriman, Great City of Malaam
Current resident of Caazham

My Esteemed Master Khalim,

I apologize for the lag in communication. Now that I again find myself in a civilized place, I should be able to send messages more regularly. Given the number of cities and means of transport that have been disrupted or destroyed by these devils throughout the known world, I have little faith this will reach you, but will persevere nonetheless.

What happenings! After narrowly defeating a troop of ice devils shipboard (some advice: once imprisoned by their conjured ice-force-dome, stay within!) my fellow travelers and I came ashore in Keuset, and quickly made the acquaintance of the noble Princess Heather Armand, a great healer in service of Pelor, the sun god. I also managed to convince a master tailor to craft for me a wardrobe suitable for a dinner audience with the great Lord Armand. I was taken aback by his earthy, common nature, but could see he commanded great respect from his men-at-arms. He tasked us with the crucial task of liberating the city’s huge underground repository of food and weapons, which had been seized by a pack of summoned hell-hounds. Nearly two dozen of the foul creatures fell before us, and the simple folk hailed us as heroes.

Not just for that reason, I find myself seduced by the comforts and familiarity of living in a palace. I believe the other lads welcome the respite also: Cap’t Barcelona has convened with an amorous serving wench (clearly a social climber), the paladin has been of great service in the temple as a healer, Six-Toe has been partaking of the numerous drinking establishments, and the little deviant seems to enjoy disguising himself as a houseplant in order to spy on household trysts. To each his own! But we cannot succumb to the allure of the amenities, for there is business at hand. Namely, rooting out the origin of the evil that enshrouds the world.

Most Sincerely

P.S. Just as I was about to sign off, we were summoned by Lord Armand to a private audience. Again he, entrusted us with assisting a covert team returning to the city. Cap’t Barcelona returned from an early-morning appointment a little ruffled and prematurely three sheets to the wind, but we accepted the Lord’s offer and set about sobering up the scalawag.

A miles-long tunnel took us outside the city where we were to guard the secret entrance and await the return of the vanguard. Soon enough, a chain-devil patrol approached. I don’t know what madness overtook me; perhaps in the culmination of months of bloody battles, wounds sustained and near-deaths to these relentless fiends, my composure finally deserted me? I found myself striding openly toward them inviting a skirmish. Damn their arcane defenses! Eight devils came to do battle, and it was a close one. I was eventually able to blind two devils and dispatch them, while three gnome-summoned bears (or was it two?) joined us in destroying them.

Lady Armand and her team arrived back at the tunnel entrance bearing a sinister device stolen from the enemy. Perhaps at last we will get to the bottom of all this calamity and corruption around us.

I will keep you posted with all that we learn.

I remain,
Your Faithful Student,
Shai-Tan

Leave a Reply

